Carnivores on the Brain

I’ve never had any formal art training aside from the one art class that was a requirement in grade school, but drawing has always been an outlet of mine. Drawing is a great way to unwind from life’s stresses, take a break from writing and reading scientific journals, and bring a hectic mind full of ideas back into focus. Of course, my favorite subject matter is that of animals, and being interested in carnivores, many drawings tend to be of a predator or of a predator-prey interaction. I enjoy applying my knowledge of animal behavior into my sketches, as well as applying new things I may learn. Here’s just a few of these, drawn with a basic graphite pencil set on a 14in x 17in (35.56cm x 43.18cm) sketchpad. Yes, that means that these are pretty big sketches. I’m often asked how long it took me draw them since theres details which you unfortunately can’t see in these photos I took of them. In short: A lot of hours, usually spread out in a week….give or take. They aren’t perfect, and I’m always super impressed by artists who are skilled enough to make a sketch look like a photograph, but I’m constantly trying to get better at this hobby. Practice practice!

68870_1502426558361_6764891_n

A wildebeest’s close call with a Nile croc

The hunt

Wolves often spend time “testing” their prey before deciding if that animal is worth the risk.

IMG_1942

Ibex, a large wild goat, are one of the main prey species of snow leopards. Both are equally equipped with the ability to swiftly navigate steep, rocky terrain.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.